Ticket Price Availability Buy Ticket


Could There Be A First Welsh Winner This Century?

One For Arthur would be the first Scottish-trained winner of the Randox Health Grand National since Rubstic, trained by John Leadbetter in Roxburghshire, won the 1979 race. Rubstic is the only Scottish winner of the race.

Rebecca Curtis would be the first Welsh trainer to take the race since Kirkland, trained by Freddy Lort-Phillips, in 1905.

Nigel Twiston-Davies will join seven other trainers in producing three Randox Health Grand National winners (the most recent of which was Tim Forster in 1972, 1980 and 1985) if Blaklion wins.

Jim Culloty is the only trainer in this year’s race to have ridden the winner (Bindaree in 2002). If Lord Windermere wins, he will join a select band of five since 1900 to have done both (Algy Anthony, Tommy Carberry, Aubrey Hastings, Fulke Walwyn and Fred Winter).

Leighton Aspell (Lord Windermere) and Ruby Walsh (Pleasant Company) have the best record of current jockeys with two wins apiece. Both have rides in this year’s race and could join the team of six (Tom Olliver, Tommy Pickernell, Tommy Beasley, Arthur Nightingall, Jack Anthony and Brian Fletcher) to win three times.

There are two amateur jockeys riding in this year’s race – Sam Waley-Cohen (The Young Master) and Jamie Codd (Cause Of Causes). The last amateur to win the Randox Health Grand National was Marcus Armytage, who took the 1990 race on Mr Frisk.

Katie Walsh (Wonderful Charm) is the only female jockey riding in this year’s Grand National – and bids to be the first ever to win it. She achieved the best placing to date by a woman when finishing third on Seabass in 2012.

There have been 16 Irish-trained winners since 1900, including Rule The World in 2016. Eleven Irish-trained horses will line up for this year’s race (Roi Des Francs, Wounded Warrior, Cause Of Causes, Ucello Conti, Pleasant Company, Lord Windermere, Measureofmydreams, Raz De Maree, Stellar Notion, Rogue Angel and Thunder And Roses).

There are six trainers with runners this year who have already won the race. Kim Bailey (The Last Samuri) trained Mr Frisk to capture the 1990 contest; Jonjo O’Neill (More Of That) won with Don’t Push It in 2010; Paul Nicholls (Saphir Du Rheu, Wonderful Charm, Le Mercurey, Vicente and Just A Par) took the 2012 renewal with Neptune Collonges; Gordon Elliott (Roi Des Francs, Cause Of Causes, Ucello Conti) scored with Silver Birch in 2007; Venetia Williams (Tenor Nivernais, Houblon Des Obeaux) won the 2009 running with Mon Mome; Nigel Twiston-Davies (Blaklion) was victorious in both 2002 with Bindaree and 1998 with Earth Summit; David Pipe (Vieux Lion Rouge, Ballynagour, La Vaticane, Doctor Harper) won in 2008 with Comply Or Die; Willie Mullins (Pleasant Company) triumphed with Hedgehunter in 2005.